Best Technique for Restarting Entire Workflow in Python SDK?

Hi Temporal Community,

I’m new to Temporal, and I’m having trouble figuring out the best way to restart an entire Workflow from the beginning using the Python SDK.

TL;DR

How do I restart a whole Workflow in the Python SDK under certain circumstances that are not related to intermittence?

Background

I have a Workflow that currently contains two Activities:

1. Make an HTTP request to a REST API to kick off a long-running job. The API returns a job ID that I can use to query the status.

2. Periodically query the API for the status of the job.

In step 2, the job’s status can be one of: ["pending", "running", "successful", "failed"].

Temporal-izing It

If I were not using Temporal, I would accomplish step 2 by repeatedly polling the API for the job’s status using exponential backoff and retries via the backoff package from PyPI. But, one of the promises of Temporal is (optionally) unlimited retries in the face of intermittence.

So, instead of using my own retry logic, I’ve written the Activity so that it hits the API and raises an Exception unless the job’s status is either “successful” or “failed”, because “pending” and “running” mean the job is not done yet. This technique works, and it’s really nice! The worker will keep retrying my Activity as it transitions from “pending” to “running” to “successful”. Every failure along the way triggers a retry for the Activity as expected. Once it’s done, the Workflow is marked as completed.