Confused about the number of history events generated by the money transfer template

Hello, I am new to temporal and have just tried the money transfer example. Everything went smoothly. However, I need some help in understanding what are the events being generated. On running the workflow once, 17 history events are generated.

Here’s what I see in summary

1. WorkflowExecutionStarted

2. WorkflowTaskScheduled (MONEY_TRANSFER_TASK_QUEUE)

3. WorkflowTaskStarted

4. WorkflowTaskCompleted

5. ActivityTaskScheduled (Withdraw)
    with activityId 8fb3d3a6-bf6f-35a5-b6fc-35142b24f759, but I don’t see a reference to this below

6. ActivityTaskStarted
    I don’t see any mention of activityId here in the details, so I presume this is for the activity that was just scheduled.

7. ActivityTaskCompleted

8. WorkflowTaskScheduled (82717@Animeshs-MacBook-Pro.local:d3378743-f9bb-4fa6-aee3-9d1b3abba16)

9. WorkflowTaskStarted

10. WorkflowTaskCompleted

11. ActivityTaskScheduled (Deposit)

12. ActivityTaskStarted

13. ActivityTaskCompleted

14. WorkflowTaskScheduled (82717@Animeshs-MacBook-Pro.local:d3378743-f9bb-4fa6-aee3-9d1b3abba16)

15. WorkflowTaskStarted

16. WorkflowTaskCompleted

17. WorkflowExecutionCompleted

I am confused about the following sequences of events

Steps 2 to 4: Why the workflow task in MONEY_TRANSFER_TASK_QUEUE got scheduled, started and completed within these steps, the activities haven’t even started yet

Steps 8 to 9 and Steps 14 to 17: What is this series of workflow tasks that get started and completed outside of the activity run boundary

Would really appreciate some help on understanding this better.

Thanks!

Welcome to the Temporal community!

Temporal workflows are specified using code. So every time there is a new event like activity completion the workflow code has to be consulted for a list of commands to execute.