Executing a DAG in a workflow

I’m wanting to execute a DAG (Directed Acyclic Graph) where multiple “nodes” can run in parallel. Depending on when various nodes complete, new nodes can kick off. Because the nodes are running as activities, they need to be deterministic. My thought on handling that is call an activity that queries the workflow to determine what should be run next. That way, on replay, the next node to run is deterministic.

My question is basically am I missing something and over complicating my solution? I’m very new to Temporal so any advice is much appreciated.

To give a concrete example, say there is a graph that looks like:

1  2
|  |
3  4
\ /

1 and 2 run at the same time but can finish in any order. Let’s say 2 finishes first and we kick 4 off and then 1 finishes and we kick off 3. At this point, something crashes and we have to replay the workflow. Because an action is run to determine what to run next, we will deterministically return, in order, 1, 2, 3, and 4.

This is exactly what Temporal workflows are built for. For example (just hand-typed here, may have typos):

[Workflow]
public class MyWorkflow
{
    [WorkflowRun]
    public async Task RunAsync()
    {
        // Wait for both path 1 and path 2 to complete concurrently
        await Task.WhenAll(DoPath1Async(), DoPath2Async());

// Do thing 5
        await Workflow.ExecuteActivityAsync(
            (MyActivities act) => act.DoThing5(),
            new() { StartToCloseTimeout = TimeSpan.FromMinutes(5) });
    }

private async Task DoPath1Async()
    {
        // Run 1 and 3
            (MyActivities act) => act.DoThing1(),
            (MyActivities act) => act.DoThing3(),
    }

private async Task DoPath2Async()
    {
        // Run 2 and 4
            (MyActivities act) => act.DoThing2(),
            (MyActivities act) => act.DoThing4(),
    }
}