How to query state from multiple workflows

Hi everyone. I’m brand new to temporal and just trying it out on a toy use case. I have a workflow that is tracking the state of a payment. In the case of a bank payment, this is a long running process that could take days to clear. There is metadata around the payment but importantly the workflow keeps track of the status of the payment which could be “Success” | “Pending” | “Error”.

What would be the best way to find out say, how many payments are currently pending? I could have an Activity to write the current state to a sql database whenever the status changes and then query that database but that feels like it goes against the purpose of keeping state in the Workflow.

Is there some method or architectural pattern of “bulk workflow querying”? Another example of a useful query would be to list the history of all payments made by a given user (assuming user metadata exists in the workflow).

Does this mean that my problem fundamentally doesn’t fit temporal pattern?

The Temporal query feature only works for a single workflow. Temporal supports listing workflows, but this feature’s main goal is to support UI, so its capabilities are pretty limted and it cannot be used for high query rates.

Using an external DB that is updated by an activity for cross-workflow queries is the way to go.

I was afraid of that. It seems like it would be inefficient to have an activity write out every state change. I’d essentially be keeping 2 separate copies of the data that also need to be kept in sync.

Do you have any suggestions for other methods to achieve my goal? Maybe it would make sense to first write to db then signal the workflow?

Why do you need to query multiple workflows for every state change?

Do you have any suggestions for other methods to achieve my goal? Maybe it would make sense to first write to db then signal the workflow?

It would be more expensive than updating the DB from a local activity.