Injected WorkflowContext vs ThreadLocal

Hi,
I was wondering about the design decision to go with a thread-local based Workflow in the Java SDK. Since the lifecycle of the workflow handler instance is controlled by temporal, wouldn’t this design be more natural to Java developers:

@WorkflowInterface
public class MyWorkflow {
    @Context
    Logger logger;

@Context
    Workflow ctx;

@WorkflowMethod
    public void main() {
       // not using static method anymore
        ctx.sleep(100);
    }
}

The @Context annotation would be reusable in actions and can do the proper thing based on the field type - for example replace ThreadLocals with WorkflowThreadLocal, populate loggers with Workflow.getLogger(), etc.

I am assuming that a workload class instance will be serving just one execution - unlike a servlet. I’m new to Temporal so probably I’m missing something :slight_smile:

The core design that uses thread locals allows to implement workflows without relying on a IoC container.

I agree that a lot of Java developers are using one of such containers and are used to dependency injection. We do plan provide integrations with such containers in the future and the code similar to your sample will be possible.

I believe Spring Boot is the most requested integration.

Do we have this feature now? I came here looking for a way to pass a Spring container managed Bean into Temporal workflow. Is there any way?

Yes, Temporal provides Spring Boot integration. But it doesn’t support injection into workflow code. This is done on purpose as injecting external objects into the workflow can lead to determinism errors.

I want to create a database object lock before I start any of the workflows and release that lock after all the workflows are over. How can I achieve that without being able to inject an object of lockRegistry inside the workflow?

Because all the workflows are independently running and only the the parent workflow has end to end child workflows defined.