Multiple subprocess running parallel and cancelling subprocess based on any subprocess result

Hi,
I am new to temporal. I am using temporal java in my project. In my project I have multiple child workflows running in parallel . Each workflow will return a string value. Suppose if any one of the workflow return a string called for example “rejected”. Then i need to cancel all other child workflow running parallel. How can I achieve this.

See HelloCancellationScope which demonstrates this use case.

Thank you for your response let me try that

Hi,

List<Promise> approvalSubprocess = new ArrayList<>();
CancellationScope scope = Workflow.newCancellationScope(() →
mygroups.forEach(group → {
MyWorkflow myWorkflow = Workflow.newChildWorkflowStub(MyWorkflow.class,
ChildWorkflowOptions.newBuilder()
.setCancellationType(ChildWorkflowCancellationType.WAIT_CANCELLATION_COMPLETED)
.build());
Promise approval = Async
.function(() → myWorkflow.invokemyWorkflow(group, requestDto.getRequestId()));
approvalSubprocess.add(approval);

})
  	);
  	scope.run(); 

In my code, I’m checking the return value of each workflow to determine if it’s ‘Rejected.’ If the first workflow is rejected, I want to cancel the others without waiting. Similarly, if the first returns ‘Approve’ and the second ‘Rejected,’ I want to cancel the third. Is there a recommended approach or method in Java to efficiently handle this workflow processing based on rejection status?

You can use Promise.anyOf to wait for a single promise to become ready and cancel the scope if it has the “Rejected” status.

Hi maxim,