Temporal and CQRS

Hi,

Very interesting new technology, thanks for all your work and for sharing.

Can someone please explain if/how Temporal could be used to implement CQRS (with Event Sourcing) or, with a gulp, does this replace CQRS?

I can see Temporal being great for the Write Side (Domain Model) but I can’t understand how the Read Side (View Models) may work.

In essence, keen to hear thoughts on CQRS/ES and Temporal.

Thanks,
Ashley.

3 Likes

I’m not an expert on CQRS, so correct me if I misrepresent it.

Temporal is not a technology to implement CQRS. It is a technology that can be used instead of it for a large number of use cases.

My understanding that the main reason for using CQRS is a desire to build an event based architecture. But it comes with many drawbacks. Mostly around eventual consistency and being a pretty low-level abstraction for developers to deal with directly. CQRS by itself is just a pattern. It still requires choosing particular implementations of event storage, durable timers, and associated client-side libraries.

Temporal is fully event-based and asynchronous. It is an architectural style, programming model, and concrete production-ready implementation. Temporal abstracts out most of the complexity of building and operating resilient processes from short to never-ending ones. Internally Temporal uses event sourcing for recovering program state, but it is more like implementation detail that does not affect directly how applications are designed and written.

I can see Temporal being great for the Write Side (Domain Model) but I can’t understand how the Read Side (View Models) may work.