Any plans for R?

I like the idea of using Temporal for data pipelines as shown in temporal’s Python tutorial but I primarily work in R. Are there any plans to integrate Temporal with R?

What type of integration do you need? You can always invoke R scripts from Python or any other SDK activities.

Maybe an example of how to translate the example to R would be enough to set me going. I don’t have experience invoking R from Python, and there look to be a number of options (rpy2, subprocesses). As a complete beginner to Temporal, I wonder which approach is most suited.

What problem are you trying to solve at high level?

Scheduling repeated tasks without scattered scheduling logic.

Currently I use CRON in combination with bash scripts like the example below for scheduling data pipelines/emailing/report generation. I considered using systemd or workflow orchestrators.

The data I primarily work with is human resource transactions which get finalized after every bi-weekly payroll. I’d like to pull (from an API) and upload (to a database) daily, and bi-weekly pull again from the API and replace the database’s prior 2 weeks of data.

#!/bin/bash

current_date=$(date +"%Y-%m-%d")
dec_24=$(date -d "12/24" +"%Y-%m-%d")
jan_03=$(date -d "01/03" +"%Y-%m-%d")

if [[ "$current_date" > "$dec_24" || "$current_date" < "$jan_03" ]]; then
    echo "Program does not run during holiday. Exiting with success."
    exit 0
else
    docker run --rm --name shovel_container shovel_image
    exit $?
fi

I see. I would rewrite the bash script as a workflow and invoke the docker run from an activity. Then, you can use the schedule feature to run this workflow periodically.

Thank you Maxim. Yes that’s an option. I guess my question is whether a native R SDK could be of interest? Data pipelines being a popular scheduling task, and R being well suited for data pipelines.