How will Temporal store the workflow status if we read the workflow definition from json/yaml in code

Hi Team,

I am actively exploring temporal and have some questions around reading the workflow definition from json/yaml in code. I am pretty new to Temporal so please correct me if it is not right direction.

So, currently we are investigating if we can store the configuration of workflow definition in json/yaml format and translate it to code.

Let’s assume the workflow definition looks like this way (it is very draft version. please treat it as a general idea). It will have entry node_id and the next_node_ids to point us the next step we should go.

{
  "id": 1,
  "root_node_id": 1,
  "nodes": {
    "1": {
      "next_node_ids": [2,3],
      "params": []
    },
    "2": {
      "next_node_ids": [],
    },
    "3": {
      "next_node_ids": [],
    }
  }
}

If we want to read this kind of workflow definition in code, in WorkflowMethod, we will have a “while” loop to infinitely check until there is no next_node_ids. The sudo code will looks like

@Override
  public void execute() {
    // construct workflowSchemas based on json file and get the entry node id
    List<Long> nodeIds = Collections.singletonList(workflowSchemas.getRootNodeId());

while (!nodeIds.isEmpty()) {
      List<Long> todoIds = Arrays.asList();
      nodeIds.forEach(
          id -> {
            // get current node
            Node node = workflowSchemas.getNodes().get(id.toString());
            // process this node
            ... ...

// find next node ids and add to todoIds
            todoIds.addAll(node.getNextNodeIds())
          });
      // add back to nodeIds to continue the while loops
      nodeIds = todoIds;
    }
  }

With that, I have some questions:

(1) If we have multiple workflow definitions (multiple json files), can we use a generic workflow to process all of them?