Possibility of scalable buffered counter

Hey , I am Junaid , I am new to temporal, it would be really helpful if some could help on this.

• I am thinking we can use temporal to implement scalable buffered counter ( very frequent 1/s to 100/s update ) like work flow, where we can make a blocking work flow (do we really need to block)? , and increment the counter using signals and get the the count by querying , what is the possibility of this ?.

• Can we make a workflow where it periodically do some tasks , update something in every 1 sec ? (can we return error forever to do this task or can we use ContinueAsNew for this )?.

• How to use workflow starter client service ( i understood how to create worker and workflows and activities) can we use simple apis to trigger this (workflow starting) ? how it will be in go ?. I know we can do this for signalling by simple api call.

thanks in advance ,
Junaid

1 Like

Welcome, Junaid!

Counter

Temporal is not a good fit for a very frequently updated counter. The temporal core abstraction is a workflow. And each workflow execution (aka instance) has limited throughput at this point. Each update to a single workflow execution requires a database write, so the number of updates to a single execution is limited by the roundtrip DB latency. So counters which go above ten updates per second would have contention as only one update at a time is allowed for the given workflowId.

Temporal Scales very well with the number of parallel workflow executions. Use cases that require not a very high rate of update to a single workflow execution, but have a high aggregated number of updates work very well on top of it. For example, a customer loyalty program with hundreds of millions of customers and IoT device management application with workflow execution per device are some of the successful production use cases.