Structuring sandbox friendly activity imports when using the Python SDK

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to Temporal and have been using it with the Python SDK. Its been a great experience so far :slight_smile:

I’ve just updated to version 0.1b3 of the Python SDK and the sandbox is complaining. For example:

import sniffio
RuntimeError: Failed valiating workflow <workflow name>

Currently I have the Workflows importing Activities. The Activities then import multiple libraries.

If I put the imports inside each Activity function the workflow validates and runs correctly.

Does anyone have any Python best practices for structuring the imports to minimise what is imported from Activities into Workflows?

Cheers,
David

1 Like

Unfortunately in sniffio’s case, this is hitting the known extending-restricted-classes limitation because that library has a class extending threading.local (also came up for a recent sniffio user on #python-sdk Slack).

We plan on fixing this extending-restricted-classes limitation, but in the meantime, you’ll have to mark that import as pass through. And really you should do this to all non-stdlib-third-party imports you know are side effect free on import (you will save memory/perf compared to having the sandbox reload these modules).

So for sniffio, it’d be something like this when creating your worker:

my_restrictions = dataclasses.replace(
    SandboxRestrictions.default,
    passthrough_modules=SandboxRestrictions.passthrough_modules_default | SandboxMatcher(access={"sniffio"}),
)
my_worker = Worker(..., workflow_runner=SandboxedWorkflowRunner(restrictions=my_restrictions))

We are going to make this simpler in the near future, probably with something like:

from temporalio import workflow

with workflow.unsafe.imports_passed_through():
    import sniffio
    import requests

Thanks for the quick response! In my case I don’t need sniffio for the Workflow only the Activity.